Celebrate this year’s Media Halls of Fame inductees

Sixteen veteran print, television and radio professionals have been selected for induction into the St. Louis Media Halls of Fame.
Selected by their colleagues, this group of inductees represents the highest standards of journalism,” said former St. Louis broadcaster Frank Absher, who founded the St. Louis Media Halls of Fame almost a decade ago to encourage recognition of those who contribute to local print and broadcast history. Those who are elected to the Halls of Fame are assured that the recognition comes from their peers, print and broadcast journalists and other professionals, who are most familiar with their contributions.”

The honorees were selected or nominated for induction by local chapters of the Society of Professional Journalists, the National Association of Television Arts and Sciences, the St. Louis Advertising Club, the Public Relations Society of America and the board of directors of the St. Louis Media History Foundation.

The induction ceremony for the 2011 honorees is set for 5:30 p.m. to 8 p.m., Wednesday, June 8, at Gio’s Ristorante & Bar, 7th and Market in downtown St. Louis. The event is open to the public and will have a cash bar.

This year’s inductees in the print category will be:
Alice Belcher, the first woman employed by the St. Louis Democrat, forerunner to the St. Louis Globe-Democrat;
Linda Eardley, the first woman hired to work on the St. Louis Post-Dispatch city desk;
Selwyn Pepper, long-time St. Louis Post-Dispatch reporter and editor, credited with helping the newspaper win three Pulitzer Prizes;
Carl Schurz, founder of several papers including Westliche Post, a St. Louis German newspaper, and who hired Joseph Pulitzer as a cub reporter; and,
Elaine Viets, long-time columnist for the St. Louis Post-Dispatch and the author of two, national best-selling mystery series.

Inductees in the Radio category are:
Doug Eason, whose 40-year career began with Armed Forces Radio and Television Service and included work on-air and in management at several local stations;
Gentleman Jim Gates, who served as a broadcaster, co-owner and general manager for several stations, and is a Peabody Award winner;
Columbus Gregory, who was named one of the nation’s top 25 gospel disc jockeys. He was not only an announcer at several stations, but played one in the movie “Say Amen Somebody”;
Prince Knight (Ron Lipe), whose name is synonymous with St. Louis rock radio from his years as a KSHE disc jockey in the late ’60s and early ’70s; and,
Nancy Pool, who was president of KADI-FM, VP/GM of KSHE, WIL-AM/FM and was brought in to resuscitate the operations of KMOX-FM, KXOK/KLTH, and KWK/KGLD.  She’s listed in several “Who’s Who” lists.

Honorees in the Television category are:
John Auble, long-time KTVI/KSD/KSDK-TV news reporter and anchor, whose journalistic range enabled him to do everything from entertaining features to hard-nosed crime stories.
Howard DeMere, a pioneer weatherman on KSD-TV, set the standard for reporting and forecasting the weather. His memorable sign-off (“That’s all from here, Howard DeMere”) was his trademark.
Ray Hoffstetter, who started in the early days of the medium at KSD/KSDK-TV as a stagehand and worked his way up to videographer/editor.
Herb Humphries, of KMOX/KMOV-TV, where his street reporting earned him the respect and trust of newsmakers and viewers alike.
Sharon Stevens, who at KTVI-TV and KSDK-TV has specialized in education reporting throughout her long career.
Parker Wheatley, a ground-breaking KMOX-TV program producer and talkshow host, was a pioneer in providing quality, serious discussion-focused programming in the 1950s, ’60s, and ’70s.

This entry was posted in . Bookmark the permalink.