St. Louis Media Halls of Fame announces the Class of 2012

Seventeen names have been added to the long list of media dignitaries already ensconced in the St. Louis Media Halls of Fame.

The 17 were selected from dozens of nominees scrutinized by the directors of the St. Louis Media History Foundation and will be recognized during an induction ceremony at 5:30 p.m. Feb. 20 at Copia Restaurant and Wine Garden in downtown St. Louis.

In alphabetical order, the 2012 honorees are:

George Abel, a legendary television and radio broadcaster, actor and entertainer, a radio broadcaster, newsman for KSD-TV, co-star of the old “Charlotte Peters Show,” “The Wranglers Club,” and for years, an announcer on “Wrestling at the Chase” on KPLR.

Robert A. Cohn, editor for 35 years of the St. Louis Jewish Light, who built the newspaper into one of the top Jewish publications in the country.

Thomas Patrick Convey, the first station manager of KMOX radio, owner of KWK radio, and sports broadcaster for the St. Louis Cardinals and St. Louis Browns.

Clarence “Harry” Fender, known by baby boomers as “Captain 11 on KPLR-TV,” and a radio broadcaster for KMOX and KXOK.

Ed Finkelstein, the longtime publisher of the St. Louis/Southern Illinois Labor Tribune; founder of Union Communications, one of the first union-oriented public relations firms in America helping organized labor tell its story; and founder of UNICOM•ARC.

Don Marsh, winner of 12 Regional Emmy Awards for his television news and anchor work for KTVI and KDNL, and producer and host of more than 1,600 public affairs programs, including a daily public affairs program that airs on KWMU, St. Louis Public Radio.

John McGuire, a veteran feature writer for the St. Louis Post-Dispatch, champion of the underdog, and writer of colorful stories of people and off-beat things in life.

James C. Millstone, a longtime reporter, editor and assistant managing editor at the Post-Dispatch who landed on the infamous Nixon “enemies” list and covered the civil rights movement, constitutional law and legal issues.

Franklin Oros, a 30-year veteran of the advertising business who worked for Savan Creath Jacobsen, Gardner Advertising, and was an associate professor at Washington University and an advertising consultant.

Bob Peirce, a former medical reporter with the St. Louis Globe-Democrat and Louisville Courier Journal who also distinguished himself as a communications strategist with Monsanto and Fleishman-Hillard.

Wiley Price, Jr., the first African-American radio show host in the St. Louis region, who got his start in 1944 on WTMV, East St. Louis, and who had subsequent shows on KXLW and KSTL.

Del Schwinke, a longtime advertising executive with the Post-Dispatch, Geile-Leon Marketing Communications, and was an adjunct professor at Washington University.

Paul Siemer, a partner in Stolberg & Siemer public relations, a former Globe-Democrat reporter, and a writer and senior executive with Fleishman-Hillard, where he led the Anheuser-Busch account for more than a dozen years and helped grow Fleishman-Hillard into a global powerhouse.

J.G. Taylor Spink, the publisher of The Sporting News from 1914 to 1962, and namesake of the highest award given by the Baseball Writers Association of America.

Bill Tyler, an advertising instructor at the University of Missouri School of Journalism and at St. Louis University, and an ad man with D’Arcy, Gardner Advertising, and Pizza Hut.

Harry B. Wilson, a former reporter and communications pioneer, and a civic leader who also was instrumental in the global expansion of Fleishman-Hillard.

Sue Ann Wood, a reporter, city editor and managing editor for the Globe-Democrat from 1955 to 1984, and editor at the Post-Dispatch from 1984 to 1991. She was just the second female to serve as managing editor of a major daily U.S. newspaper.

The St. Louis Media History Foundation is a nonprofit organization that researches and compiles St. Louis media artifacts and memorabilia, including hundreds of regional newspapers, photos, audio and videotapes, and equipment used at the advent of radio and television in St. Louis. Much of the collection is housed in the St. Louis Media Archive at the St. Louis Public Library and the Missouri History Museum.

The foundation accepts contributions to develop and expand its St. Louis media history collection, its website, local archives and repositories, oral histories, and the St. Louis Media Halls of Fame. More information can be found at the foundation’s Facebook pages or at its website,

This entry was posted in awards and honors, honored members, media history and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.