MOE finalists at Lindenwood

Lindenwood University students were named as finalists for two national Mark of Excellence awards this year.

The editorial board of Lindenlink, the university’s student news website, was named as a finalist for best online opinion and commentary. The board’s submission was about the school’s termination of a student news magazine, Legacy, which spurred a statement from St. Louis SPJ.

Also, Lindenlink Design Chief Kat Owens was a national finalist in the small school division of the photo illustration category. Her illustration accompanied a story in Legacy magazine that focused on religious trends among Millennials.

The two national finalists were among the five Lindenwood entries that were named as winners of the Region 7 Mark of Excellence contest. The other regional winners from Lindenwood were the staff of Legacy magazine for best student magazine, Kat Owens for editorial cartooning, and Madeline Raineri for online news reporting. Lindenwood students were named regional finalists in seven other categories.

The regional awards were presented at the Region 7 Conference on April 6 at the University of Central Missouri. The winners and finalists of the national Mark of Excellence awards will be recognized at the Excellence in Journalism Conference scheduled for Sept. 5-7 in San Antonio, Texas.

Also honored at Region 7’s MOE Awards were:

  • The staff of the Webster Journal at Webster University for “Made in translation,” in-depth reporting at a small school, first place; for best affiliated website for the St. Louis Gun Project, finalist; and for best all-around non-daily student newspaper, first place;
  • Christine Tannous of Webster University for “Reporter Todd Smith’s scars will never heal after Kirkwood shooting,” feature writing at a small school, first place; and for feature photography of the Kirkwood City Hall shooting memorial, first place, and for general news photography of a Black Lives Matter Protest, finalist. It should be noted that Smith is a former board member of St. Louis SPJ;
  • Andrew McMunn of Webster University for “Former Webster University student detained by ICE,” in-depth reporting at a small school, finalist;
  • Hanna Holthaus of Webster University for general column writing at a small school, finalist.

Congratulations to the finalists and winners! Also offered with apologies, because this was supposed to go out a good long time ago, but we hope our students know how proud we are of the amazing work they are doing. Good luck at Excellence in Journalism!

This entry was posted in awards and honors, education, excellence in journalism and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.